My books

Felicity at the Cross Hotel

helena fairfax fiction set in hotels

A romantic hotel in the Lake District. The Cross Hotel is the perfect getaway. Or is it?

Felicity Everdene needs a break from the family business. Driving through the Lake District to the Cross Hotel, past the shining lake and the mountains, everything seems perfect. But Felicity soon discovers all is not well at the Cross Hotel …
Patrick Cross left the village of Emmside years ago never intending to return, but his father has left him the family’s hotel in his will, and now he’s forced to come back. With a missing barmaid, a grumpy chef, and the hotel losing money, the arrival of Felicity Everdene from the notorious Everdene family only adds to Patrick’s troubles.
With so much to overcome, can Felicity and Patrick bring happiness to the Cross Hotel … and find happiness for themselves?

Praise for Felicity at the Cross Hotel

Totally believable, beautifully developed, and tugs at your heart…A simply wonderful story.’  Anne Williams, Being Anne Book Blog, Amazon Top 1000 reviewer

Where to buy: In print and for Kindle on Amazon

Penny’s Antique Shop of Memories and Treasures

Previously published as The Antique Love

Voted Most Romantic Love Scene Ever by readers of Love, Romances and More

One rainy day in London, Wyoming man Kurt Bold walks into an antique shop off the King’s Road and straight into the dreams of its owner, Penny Rosas. Kurt certainly looks every inch the cowboy hero…but he soon brings Penny’s dreams to earth with a thump. His job is in the logical world of finance – and as far as Kurt is concerned, romance is just for dreamers.
But when Kurt hires Penny to help refurbish his Victorian house near Richmond Park, it’s not long before the logical heart he has guarded so carefully is opening up to new emotions, in a most disturbing way…

Praise for Penny’s Antique Shop of Memories and Treasures
An engaging and heart warming read full of possibilities … A truly wonderful read to get caught up in. Loved it!‘ Sarah Hardy, By the Letter Book Reviews, Amazon Top 500 Reviewer
Where to buyIn print and for Kindle on  Amazon 
The Summer of Love and Secrets

(Available in the US/Canada as A Way from Heart to Heart)

Kate Hemingway is prickly and aloof…or at least, that’s what she likes people to think. Since the death of her photographer husband, Stuart, the only people Kate allows near are her best friend, Orla, and her son, George. She loves them both more than anything in the world. Everyone else she keeps at a distance…including Paul Farrell.
Paul was Stuart’s closest friend. An ex-war journalist, he and Kate have one thing in common. They both seem equally distant. Then Paul publishes an article, revealing an astonishing secret. On a trip to the Yorkshire moors with a group of teenage girls, Kate’s scarred heart begins to open up. But can she risk her son’s happiness, as well as her own?

Praise for A Way from Heart to Heart

A warm and emotive story, written with incredible insight and grace’ Anne Cater, Random Things Through My Letterbox, Amazon Top 500 Reviewer

Where to buy: In print and for Kindle on Amazon

and as A Way from Heart to Heart on Amazon US and Amazon CA

In the Mouth of the Wolf

Mystery and twists abound, in a stunning setting. I found it a terrific surprise.”

Previously published as A Year of Light and Shadows

When actress Lizzie Smith is asked to stand in for a real Mediterranean princess, her decision to accept thrusts her into a world of intrigue and danger. Alone in a palace by the sea, isolated from her friends, Lizzie is forced to rely on her quiet bodyguard, Léon, to guide her. But who is Léon really protecting? Lizzie … or the princess?
On her return to Scotland, Lizzie begins rehearsals for Macbeth … and finds danger still stalks her through the streets of Edinburgh. Lizzie is once again forced to turn to Léon, for help – and discovers a secret he’d do anything not to reveal.

From the heat of the Mediterranean to the atmospheric, winding streets of Edinburgh, In the Mouth of the Wolf will take you on a journey of mystery and romance. Perfect for fans of Mary Stewart, Victoria Holt and Daphne du Maurier.

Where to buy: In print and for Kindle on Amazon
 
The Silk Romance
helena fairfax, the silk romance, contemporary romanceShe’ll do whatever it takes to keep her promise…even risking love

Set in the heart of France, in an idyllic setting, this is a romantic, heartwarming and unputdownable book about family, life and love. Perfect for anyone who loves a happy ending.

When Sophie Challoner’s French mother dies, she leaves Sophie in charge of the family – her gifted violinist brother, and her ailing father. It’s a responsibility on such young shoulders, and so when Sophie has the chance to go and work in a silk mill in France for a few weeks, she’s both excited and worried about leaving them behind.
Once in France, Sophie discovers she is working for Jean-Luc – the man she’d met years before, one unforgettable night in Paris. Jean-Luc is every bit the romantic hero she remembered – but he’s also a distraction she doesn’t need. Sophie has responsibilities, and she’s determined nothing will get in the way of her promise. Not even love…

Praise for The Silk Romance
Unforgettable, powerfully intense and beautifully written.” Caroline Barker, A Reader’s Review
Where to buy:  in print and for Kindle on Amazon
 
Find out more, with articles, reviews, and photos of beautiful Lyon, on my Pinterest board

One thought on “My books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.