My books

Felicity at the Cross Hotel

helena fairfax fiction set in hotels

At the Cross Hotel, happy endings can be found when you least expect them..

A quaint old hotel by a lake in the mountains should be the perfect place for a relaxing summer, and Felicity Everdene is looking forward to a quiet break from working in her father’s stressful business. A few weeks hiking and swimming should restore her.

But then the hotel’s new owner, Patrick Cross, takes Felicity for the replacement barmaid, and things don’t turn out quite to plan. With a grumpy chef, a waiter with love troubles, and the old Tudor building in need of renovation, Felicity’s quiet break soon turns into a working holiday.

But Patrick’s dreams lie beyond the mountains, and Felicity’s loyalties lie with her family, and anyway, holidays can’t last forever…can they?
In print and for Kindle on Amazon


Penny’s Antique Shop of Memories and Treasures

One rainy day in London, Wyoming man Kurt Bold walks into an antique shop off the King’s Road and straight into the dreams of its owner, Penny Rosas. Kurt certainly looks every inch the cowboy hero…but he soon brings Penny’s dreams to earth with a thump. His job is in the logical world of finance – and as far as Kurt is concerned, romance is just for dreamers.
But when Kurt hires Penny to help refurbish his Victorian house near Richmond Park, it’s not long before the logical heart he has guarded so carefully is opening up to new emotions, in a most disturbing way…

In print and for Kindle on  Amazon 

The Summer of Love and Secrets

‘A beautiful, heart-wrenching story about love, loss and friendship. Fairfax creates characters that come to life and Kate is one of the best!’ N.N. Light’s Book Heaven

The two people Kate Hemingway loves most in the world are her best friend, Orla, and her son, George. Everyone else she keeps at a distance. Kate has no intention of having her heart broken again…

Journalist Paul Farrell and Kate have one thing in common. They both seem equally prickly. Then Paul publishes an article, revealing an astonishing secret that changes everything. When Kate takes a trip to the Yorkshire moors with Paul and a group of teenage girls, her scarred heart begins to open up. But with the odds stacked against them, can true love really happen twice?
In print and for Kindle on Amazon


In the Mouth of the Wolf

From the heat of the Mediterranean to the atmospheric, winding streets of Edinburgh, In the Mouth of the Wolf will take you on a journey of mystery and romance. Perfect for fans of Mary Stewart, Victoria Holt and Daphne du Maurier.

When actress Lizzie Smith is asked to stand in for a real Mediterranean princess, her decision to accept thrusts her into a world of intrigue and danger. Alone in a palace by the sea, isolated from her friends, Lizzie is forced to rely on her quiet bodyguard, Léon, to guide her. But who is Léon really protecting? Lizzie … or the princess?
On her return to Scotland, Lizzie begins rehearsals for Macbeth … and finds danger still stalks her through the streets of Edinburgh. Lizzie is once again forced to turn to Léon, for help – and discovers a secret he’d do anything not to reveal.

In print and for Kindle on Amazon


The Silk Romance

She’ll do whatever it takes to keep her promise…even risking love

helena fairfax, the silk romance, contemporary romanceWhen Sophie Challoner’s French mother dies, she leaves Sophie in charge of the family – her gifted violinist brother, and her ailing father. It’s a responsibility on such young shoulders, and so when Sophie has the chance to go and work in a silk mill in France for a few weeks, she’s both excited and worried about leaving them behind.
Once in France, Sophie discovers she is working for Jean-Luc – the man she’d met years before, one unforgettable night in Paris. Jean-Luc is every bit the romantic hero she remembered – but he’s also a distraction she doesn’t need. Sophie has responsibilities, and she’s determined nothing will get in the way of her promise. Not even love…
In print and for Kindle on Amazon

Sometimes what you need is right there waiting for you…

helena fairfaxMiss Moonshine’s Wonderful Emporium has stood in the pretty Yorkshire town of Haven Bridge for as long as anyone can remember. With her ever-changing stock, Miss Moonshine has a rare gift for providing exactly what her customers need: a fire opal necklace that provides a glimpse of a different life; a novel whose phantom doodler casts a spell over the reader; a music box whose song links love affairs across the generations. One thing is for certain: after visiting Miss Moonshine’s quirky shop, life is never the same again…Nine romantic novelists from Yorkshire and Lancashire, including best-selling and award-winning authors, have joined together to create this collection of uplifting stories guaranteed to warm your heart. This intriguing mix of historical and contemporary romances will make you laugh, cry, and believe in the happy-ever-after.

In print and for Kindle on Amazon

One thought on “My books

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.